Introducing the writer in me.

My name’s Bec, I am a 30 year old, stay at home Mum of 4 kidlets aged 4-12. I live in rural South Australia with hubby, my kids and our three cats who despite their best efforts, don’t always assist me with my work.

I started writing Easter weekend of 2015, after applying for a writing course to focus on becoming a freelance editor. After trialing both editing and writing I realised I had a passion for the written word. Something that despite being an avid dreamer and reader I never knew.

Since then I have completed 6 novels, and have another one in the works. And numerous plots and outlines waiting to be brought to life. You can find more about my completed stories below.

Battle for Terra

Binary

I also write and manage a fan fiction blog on Tumblr, 5 Minute Fan Fiction.

I have a strong passion for scifi/fantasy based young adult stories, that can be enjoyed not only by tweens and up, but is something that parent’s can read along side their kids and use it as a way to increase conversation and family bonding.

I try to include action, adventure, humour and a side of romance, so that my stories cover a wide genre.

I have a strict no smut policy. I do not write any scenes that should only be read by adults. If it is something that I feel needs to be in the story, it is implied but not described. Nothing in any of my work covers or describes anything I would not be happy with my own children reading.

This blog is to record my journey to what I hope is one day a published author and as a way to help inspire and assist other your writers along their own journey. I hope to offer easy to understand, clear, printable tips, tricks and need to knows, competition details and support for those who are like me, still starting out in a career that is hard to break into.

I am by no means an expert and am still learning. I will stare at a sentence for an hour wondering if that should contain a comma or not. I will always find some kind of grammar mistake, because well I know what it should say and tend to over look things.

Feel free to contact me, chat or follow my journey. I am happy to share it with you.
You can find more ways to get in touch in my contact page, under the about me.

Bec
xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

