Who said that…

quotes-writing-charles-de-lint-600x411

Image Credit to Oprah website.

I got feedback for Battle for Terra, that suggested changing perspective. Which was fine, in fact the feedback fit with my own thoughts, but I kept the entire series as first person because one of my Beta readers thought it was better as it allowed her to be in the book.

This lead to a rewrite of the first book. And while I’m waiting a few days to read through it again, I thought that I might go through another one of my manuscripts, Compliant. The book was first person and I thought I’d give the first chapter a go at third person (Yes, this is how I spend my bored, can’t think time). Well, it kinda worked really well and I am half way through rewriting it. It also lead to me mapping out the central plots for books two and three. And it put the book I am working on aside for a bit longer.

I have written about different perspectives before (over here). When I first started writing, everything was first person. I have since discovered the romance of words that can come with third person. The way that it can flow and ebb through a story can almost be like the words and the scene it’s setting dancing around a page. It can really change the way something is written.

What’s your favourite perspective? Have you ever rewritten something, changing the point of view? Did it improve it?

Bec
xx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

